April, 2016

Ashoka students and Alumni continue to win Accolades


Kritika Pandey, an YIF (Young India Fellowship) alum and current Teaching Assistant at Ashoka University has been shortlisted for the prestigious Commonwealth Short Story Prize.  The 2016 Commonwealth Short Story Prize attracted nearly 4000 entries from 47 countries. Twenty-six  stories by writers from eleven countries made it to the shortlist.

Dhairyya Singh, a second year undergraduate student at Ashoka has been selected for the highly competitive Summer Program for Undergraduate Research (SPUR) in the US. Only 5 out of 150 applicants from all over the world, including some of the most prestigious universities globally, made the cut.  The Society for Personality and Social Psychology SPUR offers upper division undergraduate students with outstanding academic potential the opportunity to work closely with faculty mentors on research projects. The programs are designed for students who wish to learn more about the graduate school experience and possibly pursue an academic career in teaching and research.

Sumer Sharma, a first year undergraduate student has been honoured for his news website content at the prestigious Webby Awards, an international competition for the best blogs. The Webby Awards is the leading international award honoring excellence on the Internet. Established in 1996 during the Web’s infancy, The Webbys is presented by the International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences (IADAS) — a 1,000+ member judging body. The Academy is comprised of Executive Members, leading Web experts, business figures, luminaries, visionaries and creative celebrities, and Associate Members who are former Webby Winners, Nominees and other Internet professionals.

Sports at O.P Jindal’s ‘Magnus':​​​

Ashoka’s Women’s Football Team won their first ever tournament. The team comprised of Chetana Pai, Swasti Acharya, Jayanti Jha, Shaesta Mallick, Samriddhi Bhargava from UG Co 2018 and Priya Rathod, Shranya Gambhir, Nitya Kuthiala, Padma Aradhya, Ruaab Monga and Aashna Lal (captain) from UG Co 2017.

Also, Ashoka’s Women’s Table Tennis Team – Ashna Kedia (UG Co 2018), Manisha Koppala (UG Co 2017) and Palak Rawal (YIF) won the Table tennis championship. ​Aritra Sutradhar (UG Co 2017) and Palak Rawal emerged as Table Tennis champions (Mixed Doubles) too.
​​Athletics: Vikrant Zutshi (UG Co 2017) won gold in 200 m category.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Other Articles

Ashoka News

Why startups should apply for AIM Smart City Accelerator Program?

This time during last year, the team at AIM Smart City Accelerator was gearing up to announce its first call for applications from aspiring entrepreneurs. After an overwhelming response from participants across the country and a tough selection process, eight startups became a part of the program which began in March, 2016. [...]

Register for Subscription